Christmas time is here!

The first thing I did when I got into my car yesterday morning to head to work, was turn on Christmas music. I absolutely love this time of year.

I remember as a child that watching them light the candles on the Advent wreath every week at Mass was both exciting and torture. Those weeks went by so slowly! Advent was filled with baking treats, Pierogies, shopping, decorating, and lots of anticipation. Christmas morning we were allowed to open our stockings before church, but had to wait until after 7:30 Mass to open our big presents. I think this was smart of my parents. It was a good solid lesson to to help us focus on the birth of Jesus, and not get caught up in our gifts. I looked forward to getting all dressed up for Mass Christmas morning, and enjoying the beautiful sacraments. (Although that last hymn felt like it had a million choruses, as we were dying to get home quickly afterward!)

Now that I’m older, it feels like Advent isn’t long enough. I need more time to bake, to shop, to relax and just take in the time to prepare for Christmas as I did as a child. I miss having all of the time in the world to help my Mom prepare for Christmas. We’re not even sure if we can coordinate a day to shop together since we have very different schedules at the moment. I just want life to slow down again during Advent, just as a did when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

