Custom Clutch

I have a few weddings coming up, and the Maternity dress I have is navy with black lace. I wanted to add some pops of color to make it a little more exciting. I decided accessories would be a fun way to do that.

I ordered a $10 clutch from FashionJewelry21. I stumbled across them a week ago.  They actually have a nice selection of inexpensive clutch bags that are already decorated, but I had a vision in mind.

Image

I started with this simple clutch, and then purchased this necklace and earring set for $10.95

Image

You can find it here

A hot glue gun, wire cutters, and a couple of straight pins are all you need next.

Image

Image

Line up the necklace where you want it on the clutch, and use a few straight pins to hold it in place while you work.

Image

I only needed one on each end of the necklace.

Image

Starting at the center point, apply a generous blob of hot glue, and then press firmly into place.

Image

Continue lifting and gluing until you get close to the top.

Image

Having the chain still attached comes in handy here. Lift the remaining and jewels and apply glue to each. You do need to work quickly since the glue dries fast.

Image

I used hot glue to attach the chain to where the top seam meets the back. Use a strong wire cutter to trim the extra links off.

Image


Image

And there you have it! Quick, easy, inexpensive. You could do this with old necklaces or baubles you have lying around and save even more money. I would like to replace the string on the clutch with a simple gold chain to put on my shoulder.

Leave a Reply

