Thoughts from my Kitchen

One thing I had to get used to once I got married, was being in charge of dinner. If my hubby was the cook, we’d live off of pasta, salad, and cereal, with the occasional pork chop. I need a little more variety in my diet, and cereal is NOT dinner.  I enjoy cooking, and have been getting more and more creative.

These potatoes are a basic staple in our house. When I’m feeling lazy, (they’re easy!) when I’m making chicken, or Pork chops these are almost always present.

Preheat the Oven to about 425 Degrees F.
I usually use Organic Red or Yellow Potatoes. 
Chop them up. The smaller they are, the faster they’ll cook.
I usually chop enough to fill a baking sheet because they reheat really well.

I then lay the potatoes out on a baking sheet, and drizzle olive oil in the pan. Add Garlic Salt and Ground Pepper. I like mine heavily seasoned. I then use my hands and mix it all together until the potatoes are coated in oil and seasoning. I proceed to wash my hands because they’re really slimy from the Olive Oil.
Pop the pan in the oven for about 25-30 minutes depending on how crispy you like them. 

They get nice and crispy on the outside, and soft on the inside. Mmmmm!

The other thing I discovered that is really tasty is Carrots cooked in Butter, Cinnamon, and Ginger. AMAZING. Melt the butter, chop up carrots, season to taste, and let cook until soft. You wont be disappointed. 😉

3 thoughts on “Thoughts from my Kitchen

  1. I had to smile at this, because I'm going to be in the same boat in about 2 months. If my fiance were to be in charge of dinner on a regular basis, we'd probably be living off of spaghetti, tacos, and the occasional bowl of straight-up ground beef! Both of the sides sound tasty, so I'll have to give those a shot.

  2. Straight up ground beef?! I love ground beef (meatballs, tacos, chili, stuffed cabbage) but on it's own….O.oLet me know how you like the sides if you get around to making them. 🙂

Leave a comment